staying hungry : maple mustard (aka man pleasin’) chicken

People, we have a winner.

Over the past 6 months of the Dinner Challenge I’ve made some meals that were good. Parchment paper salmon and Beef and Tomato Stew come to mind. Some will stay starred and highlighted and exclamation pointed as keepers in my recipe binder – we’re talking Salsa Chicken and Chicken Stir Fry with Goat Cheese and Raspberries.

But even though we’re only half way through the year, I already know that this week’s meal is going to be my ultimate favorite. Because OH MY WORD…it’s the kind of meal that is going to appear on the table at least once a week month for the rest of my life.

And that meal is Maple Mustard Chicken. Or as the original recipe states, “Man Pleasin’ Chicken.”

Since I’m fresh out of men, I just tried it out myself. And let me tell you, it’s “Woman Pleasin’ ” too! There is no gender inequality where this dish is concerned.

But really, when I am not lacking a man, this is what I’ll feed him. All. The. Time.

Without further ado:

Maple Mustard Chicken

originally posted by Witty in the City

Ingredients:

  • About 1.5 lbs chicken breast tenders (the original recipe calls for thighs; I’m sure that would be great too but this is what I had on hand)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • fresh rosemary (DO NOT skip this! I debated cutting it because for some reason I have a hard time shelling out $1.99 for fresh herbs, but seriously, this flavor combination makes the meal, and I’m not even a huge fan of rosemary!)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450 and line a medium sized baking dish with aluminum foil. Whisk together the maple syrup, mustard, and vinegar. Add chicken strips to the marinade and toss to coat. Pour strips and marinade into your lined baking dish and arrange in a single layer. Bake at 450 for 40 minutes (or until fully cooked) and baste half way through. Rest for 5 minutes after cooking and serve with roughly chopped rosemary and a spoonful of sauce from the pan.

Then, pen a song of praise for this meal…and all chickens, everywhere. It’s going to happen.

Rating:

5/5. My life has changed for the better. Thank you, Man Pleasin’ Chicken (and Witty in the City!).

One thought on “staying hungry : maple mustard (aka man pleasin’) chicken

  1. Pingback: beka stays : june recap (and a blogging vacation) | beka stays

Leave a Reply

