beka stays in rochester : good smoke bbq

This is Ashley.

She had the tall order of choosing between 8,000 different restaurants for our get together over the weekend because I make decisions about as well as I walk gracefully.

So… not very successfully. At all.

But luckily she’s a woman after my own heart and made a decision based on the dessert menu. Nicely done, Smash.

We went to Good Smoke BBQ in East Rochester, a practically brand new brick-and-mortar from a team that’s been traveling around winning BBQ competitions for years.

(FYI: the address is 326 West Commercial, not 376. If you accidentally put 376 into your GPS you will arrive about a block south of your desired location and wonder where in the world you are.)


In another feat of great decision making, Ashley ordered this turkey sandwich which was basically Thanksgiving on overdrive. Her reviews were very positive.

I opted for the pulled pork sandwich: kiddie size.



Or more aptly described: fat kiddie size.

But OH MY LAND was it ever amazing! Great smoky flavor, just enough sauce, and really crisp slaw. What more can you ask for from BBQ?

Hiding out in the back of the photo is the best cornbread I’ve ever had. Crunchy on the outside and SO moist on the inside – not dry at all like cornbread can be sometimes. And not pictured but equally delicious: a side of smoked potato salad. Wonderful.

And of course, the reason we gathered together in sisterly love at Good Smoke, the Gooey Bar:

That right there is a vanilla gooey bar topped with a banana caramel sauce and smoked bacon.

Bacon!

It was too decadent for description.

Now, since I’m making strides to be healthier than ever, I haven’t indulged in anything even slightly shady for over a month. So I was overdue for an oh-my-goodness-my-stomach-is-going-to-explode kind of meal. And I did really well with this one. I split everything in half to take home for later, dessert included!

At least, that was the plan.

Before:

After:

Dessert, I just can’t quit you. And to be honest…I kind of don’t want to! You bring me too much joy!

(But only getting together every now and then is probably best for both of us.)

(But mostly for me.)

5 thoughts on “beka stays in rochester : good smoke bbq

  1. These foodie photos have made me hungry!!! Good thing it’s time for lunch:) Seriously, this BBQ looks A-MAZING! And that vanilla gooey bar? Oh my word! One of the things I have come to love about living in Texas is the BBQ. Oh yes, my stomach has been quite happy since our meeting:) Love following your adventures, Beka! Thanks for the fab photos!

    • Elizabeth…there’s a new Texas-style BBQ that recently opened a few feet away from my apartment and I am DYING to try it! I’ll have to report back when I do, although I’m sure the real deal from the lone star state is even better :) So glad you enjoyed this post, hope you are having a great day!

  2. Pingback: beka stays real : my favorite way to eat | beka stays

  3. Pingback: beka stays : march recap | beka stays

  4. Pingback: beka stays : april recap | beka stays

Leave a Reply

