beka stays hungry : weeknight enchiladas

I actually made something that did not require the use of a crock pot this week.

And I actually made it from a recipe designed for the use of a crock pot…but that also had adaptations for non-crock pot cooking.

Shock and awe!

What can I say? I was hungry and short on time! I didn’t have 6 hours to wait for dinner!

I’m sure this recipe would turn out great in a crock pot, but I’m actually glad I went with the just-stick-this-pan-filled-with-enchiladas-in-the-oven method (that’s the scientific terminology, for those of you who were wondering). The hardest part is willing the tortillas into submission without all of the filling spilling out everywhere.

IMG_2393

Clearly, I have some room for improvement when it comes to willing tortillas into submission.

But really, this was beyond easy. And the best part is that they really held up well all week long. I made them on Sunday night and just had one of the last ones for dinner last night, and it was as good as the first!

That’s the mark of a staple recipe, right there.

Weeknight Enchiladas

lightly adapted from the Kitchn

Serves 4-6

1/2 yellow onion, diced small
1/2 bell pepper, diced small (any color)
1 clove garlic
1 16-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed (I used Adzuki beans. I’m a rebel. And they were on sale.)
1 cup frozen corn (I used canned. See: rebel. See also: sale.)
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup cheese, shredded (I used low fat mozzarella, but I’m sure they would be great with any shredded cheese.)
1 cup salsa
6 6″-8″ tortillas, flour or corn (I used Father Sam’s Whole Wheat Wraps for the first time ever…SO good!)
Optional: 1 cup leftover meat – chicken, pork, hamburger, or shredded beef (I opted for chicken.)

Directions:

To see the real slow cooker directions, click on over to the Kitchn’s recipe here.

To make these bad boys in the oven (preheated to 400), I started by sauteing the onions, peppers, and garlic in just a little olive oil. Then I added some uncooked chicken breast strips and the seasonings and let that sizzle for about 5 minutes or so, until the chicken cooked through. Removing from heat is a good next step. Then, in a large bowl, I mixed the corn, black beans, 1/2 of the salsa, and 1/2 of the cheese. Once the pepper and onion mixture had cooled slightly I added it to the aforementioned bowl and mixed everything together. Then, with some degree of vexation, I rolled each enchilada until I had enough to fill a 9×13 pan, which turned out to be 6 enchiladas. Wonderful! Here is where I would have hypothetically put the remaining 1/2 cup of salsa on top the the enchiladas had I not forgotten. But I apparently decided to skip that step and went straight for covering the pan with foil and putting it in the oven for 20 minutes. Once 20 minutes have elapsed I removed the foil and added the rest of the cheese to my otherwise naked enchiladas and let them bake, uncovered, for about 3-5 more minutes, until the cheese was melted and tortillas were a bit toasty.

The fact that I just narrated that entire paragraph instead of giving you actual step by step directions illustrates perfectly why I will never write my own cookbook. Good luck!

But really, if you can figure those instructions out, it’s super easy and well worth trying.

Rating: 4/5, with the potential to be 5/5 if I remember to add the salsa to the top next time. Great weeknight dinner!

(But if you decide to eat them on a weekend, that’s ok too.)

3 thoughts on “beka stays hungry : weeknight enchiladas

  1. I’m convinced that if you add cumin and chili powder to anything, it will be delicious. Did you freeze the extras for dinner all week or just fridge them? And yeah, I just made ‘fridge’ a verb.

  2. Pingback: beka stays hungry : frozen breakfast burritos | beka stays

Leave a Reply

