beka stays hungry : rosemary olive oil oatmeal

I think this is the perfect oatmeal for January.

(This is also the last picture you’ll see using my Christmas tree as a flash…in January. You’re welcome.)

The idea for this oatmeal came from an interview in Whole Living with Daphne Oz. When I first read her recipe for Gladiator Oatmeal I thought it sounded pretty horrific. Rosemary and shallots and olive oil in oatmeal? In roasted vegetables, yes. In oatmeal, no.

But I decided to try it because I couldn’t stop wondering what oatmeal with olive oil would taste like. I ended up using ingredients I had on hand instead of following the recipe exactly (story of my life), and this is what happened:

1/3 Cup Oats

1/2 Tbsp Fresh Rosemary, Chopped

1 Teaspoon Olive Oil

2 Tbsp Pomegranate Seeds (or Chopped Cranberries)

1/2 Banana, Sliced

1 Teaspoon Honey or Agave

1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon

(I added the rosemary to the oats while they were cooking and then topped with all of the remaining ingredients afterward.)

When I made the cranberry version I looked down at my completed creation and felt like I was about to eat a Christmas tree. Luckily, it didn’t taste like eating a Christmas tree, or any other type of tree for that matter. It was amazing! After I ran out of cranberries I tried pomegranates and really love that flavor combo even more. Then I ate it for breakfast (and sometimes dinner) for weeks on end.

Here’s what I love about this oatmeal: it’s so clean. It feels like you are giving yourself the best possible start to the day. You’ve got healthy fat from the olive oil, protein and fiber from the oats, superfood prowess from the pomegranates, and nothing that is going to weigh you down first thing in the morning. It’s hearty and healthy, ideal attributes for a January breakfast.

Shake things up a bit. Give this weird oatmeal a try. It’s so good you’ll forget the crazy factor.

4 thoughts on “beka stays hungry : rosemary olive oil oatmeal

    • Stephanie, I’m convinced that oatmeal is the force that makes the world go round. Go get yourself some gluten free goodness! It’ll make your day, maybe even your LIFE! :) Hope you are having a great week and are finally dried/thawed from the big game!

      • Were just about all thawed out. It was an amazing time and I am so glad we had the opportunity to go! Definitely worth being cold and wet. I will go to PCC this weekend and see what I see. I doubt they have instant oatmeal in the G-F variety but we’ll see.

  1. Pingback: good things : easy DIY lighting | beka stays

Leave a Reply

