beka stays hungry : slow cooker beef and tomato stew

If I were being graded as a carnivore, I’d probably score around a 20. This is because I rarely feel the need to eat the kind of meat that doesn’t come on top of pizzas or in between sandwiches. A fact that was showcased last weekend when I approached the meat counter to ask for a cut of meat I’d never heard of before beef and was REJECTED by the butcher. Seriously, I was sent packing. Apparently I needed to head in the direction of the freezers because I had no idea what I was talking about so I could survey all of the meat options and be even more thoroughly confused.

But since I don’t plan on being a free wheelin’ single girl forever and consequently will someday need to expand my dinner repertoire beyond whole wheat pasta and scrambled eggs (or…cereal and more cereal) I figured I’d kick off the dinner challenge with beef. For the first time in my apartment, it actually is what’s for dinner.

(Confession: I use my Christmas lights for extra light because I’m too lazy to go get my flash. I should be ashamed, but I’m not.)

I think this recipe awakened my inner carnivore.

It was SO GOOD! And so easy! I found the recipe in this month’s (January/February 2012) Everyday Food, and you can find it here on their website. The only alterations I made were using the Seeds of Change Brown Rice and Quinoa mix instead of making regular brown rice and adding a layer of spinach and arugula for extra green-power. I also cut the recipe in half, which still made four servings. Not too shabby.

Here’s how it fared in the polls:

Difficulty: Non-existent

Preparation: QUICK (minus slow cooking time)

Dumpster Dinner, Not Bad, Good, Really Good, or Unbelievably Amazing: Really Good!!!

Overall Rating: 4/5 (a little too heavy for me to eat on a regular basis…then again, this is coming from someone who consumes cereal for dinner on a regular basis, so basically anything else is heavy in comparison)

Week 1 = Success. High five.

3 thoughts on “beka stays hungry : slow cooker beef and tomato stew

  1. Pingback: beka stays hungry : parchment paper salmon | beka stays

  2. Pingback: staying hungry : maple mustard (aka man pleasin’) chicken | beka stays

Leave a Reply

