beka stays authentic : you will still sleep tonight if you don’t read this [part II]

1. I’m craving coffee in the worst way right now. Not as a caffeinated entity, but just in all of it’s pure, freshly ground, good to the last drop glory. This probably has something to do with the fact that I’m obsessed with Finger Lakes’ Kranberry Kreme blend, but still, I seriously contemplated going to bed early because it would get me that much closer to waking up and making coffee.

2. I also contemplated going to bed early because I’m the kind of overtired that makes a person useless to the world. Literally: useless. Which may explain point number three…

3. I accidentally kicked my Nalgene bottle over tonight, spilling it’s contents onto the wood floors. Since my apartment is not unlike Pisa in that it leans significantly to the left, the waterfall began gaining momentum towards the wall where all of my electronics live. I responded by sitting there and watching the glug, glug, glug of flowing water for several moments before having the presence of mind to pick up the water bottle. Then, noticing the impending doom approaching my laptop/internet/hard drive/camera/printer, I did what any normal person would do.

I took off my pants. I took off my fleece pants so quickly you would have thought they were on fire and threw them and myself onto the floor to act as a barricade.

It was at this point that I started to wonder why a towel wouldn’t have afforded the same benefit with a less shameful result. Why this didn’t occur to me pre-stripping is a mystery only point number two can answer. And because I was a) wet, b) tired, and c) annoyed at the time I didn’t find this whole situation very amusing. But now that it’s just a few hours later I think it’s hysterical. I crack up every time I replay the moment when I decided that bolting out of my clothing was clearly the best answer to the problem at hand.

4. I’m going to Trader Joe’s in less than one week. I already have a list of a dozen items I can’t wait to bring home. Joy to the World.

5. 5 – as in the number of days until Christmas. This pains me. I need more time! I need more snow!

6. Today at the gym I was contemplative. I ran 6 ugly miles. They were ugly because I was SO not into them so they felt extra long and laborious. But that’s not the point. The point is that while I ran I looked around and saw many a female sweating it out on their workout machinery of choice. And I wondered, as I often do, what their ultimate goal was – to lose weight? to stay healthy? to be happy? And then I listened to conversations in the locker room – about Christmas cookies, how it’s not safe to bake them and keep them in the house, why it’s almost time to really buckle down for a new batch of weight loss resolutions. And then I wondered how much time we as a gender spend thinking about things like this – how we look in the mirror, how we look compared to the girl next to us in the mirror, how much weight we want to lose, how many calories are in our Christmas cookies, how many minutes on the elliptical equal how many Christmas cookies we want to eat?

And then I thought: what if we stopped? What if we stopped constantly (oh, constantly!) thinking about body image? Stopped degrading ourselves, torturing with comparisons, killing joy with calculations? What if we just stopped the insanity?

How much more brain space would we have for things that actually matter? Like being present in the moment, enjoying food and exercise as blessings and not punishments, realizing that life is bigger, better, more important than a number on a scale?

I am the guiltiest of the guilty. I need a change in my perspective. But those are just the thoughts I was thinking today. And I thought I’d share them with you too. Girls, what do you think? Have you ever been in this boat?

7. Along the same lines, I spent oodles of time pouring over this blog tonight. Andie’s story is filled with inspiration, honesty, reality, and – perhaps most importantly – kindness. It’s definitely worth stopping by and reading a few (thousand) wise words.

8. I’m going to bed now. (Which means only a few more hours until coffee!)

6 thoughts on “beka stays authentic : you will still sleep tonight if you don’t read this [part II]

  1. Bah! I love, love, loved this post! First, I was laughing out loud picturing you using your pants/body as a dam. Then I got all introspective about body image. Personally, I am SO sick of people coming into work, staring longingly at the cookies by the register, and saying “Oh no, I can’t. Well…maybe I can be bad. No, no, I shouldn’t.” (You know exactly what I’m talking about) Just EAT THE DAMN COOKIE! It’s delicious and you aren’t going to gain 10 pounds by eating one cookie. Why are women so crazy? I agree, we need to be kinder to ourselves and others regarding how we look and how we approach food and fitness. Self-love and compassion need to come back in a big way in 2012.

    • Yes! I know exactly what you mean! I loved what was said at our last meeting about our brownies – dessert is a LEGIT component of a healthy diet. Seriously, embrace the brownie! Sometimes I even take it literally! Glad we’re on the same wavelength :)

  2. Pingback: beka stays committed : to controlling the (blog) mayhem « beka stays

  3. Here is a list of responses that popped into my head as I read this wonderful post, in no particular order:

    1. OMG. haha! I was cracking up. Pants are obviously the most logical solution in a save-your-precious-electronics situation.
    2. JUST WAIT UNTIL YOU CAN GO TO TRADER JOE’S AND PITTSFORD WEGMANS AND BARNES AND NOBLE AND CHIPOTLE WITHOUT LEAVING THE PARKING LOT!
    3. Can You Stay For Dinner has been one of my new favorite blogs this year. She’s wonderful, eh?
    4. Love you. :)

    • I love ALL OF THESE responses (particularly the one about our soon to be near-and-dear TJ’s!) and YOU! Hope you are simply having a wonderful Christmastime, dear friend :)

  4. Pingback: beka stays real : super sunday ramblings | beka stays

Leave a Reply

