beka stays authentic : you will still sleep tonight if you don’t read this

Things you probably don’t need to know but I’m going to tell you about anyway because I’m plum out of blog fodder:

1. Last night I was craving something warm and comforting for dinner. Something like meatloaf or chicken parmesan or chili. I came home with citrus tofu sushi and nutella (which I did not eat simultaneously). I’d say I missed the mark, but it was so good that I didn’t mind it being the antithesis of my original dinner plan.

2. Yesterday morning I went to Dunkin Donuts to order coffee from the drive thru. I proceeded to drive not thru, but directly past the pickup window, which led to driving around the establishment in a Circle of Shame. I was hoping I could just go straight through to the pickup window and avoid explaining myself but as fate would have it 3 cars decided to jump in line in the short amount of time it took me to drive around the building. Which meant this conversation loomed in my future:

“Welcome to Dunkin Donuts! How can I help you?”

“I’ve actually already placed my order.”

“I’m sorry?”

“I drove through about a minute ago and ordered a large coffee…”

“Oh. So. (Long pause to figure out what could have possibly prevented me from obtaining said coffee.)”

“I’m just a moron. I drove past the window. It’s why I need the coffee.”

“Oh! Don’t worry about it. Happens all the time.”

Really? Does it? I’m pretty sure it does not, as most people can successfully navigate driving from one window to another in a straight line. But thank you, Dunkin Donuts employee, for trying to make me feel better about life.

3. Sadly, my month of CrossFit from Living Social ended and so did my trial membership at a fancy gym, and since it’s not in the budget to spend more on gym memberships per week than I do on groceries and/or gas I’m back at good old $10 per month Planet Fitness. And you know what? I love it there. Especially the one that I’m going to now in Victor. It’s big and bright, FULLY stocked with tons of (working) equipment, and has a woodsy/mountainy feel to it thanks to locker rooms decked out in wooden lockers and stone walls. And let’s be honest, anywhere that allows me full access to ESPN and the Food Network while pounding out the miles is already a great place in my book, Ralph Lauren ambiance or not. But now I get the best of both worlds…and for less than I spend on coffee every week month!  Life is good.

4. This blog post made me laugh.

5. So did this one.

6. I’ve come to terms with the fact that the Christmas presents I’m making are ugly. So I’m working to make them less so, or it will be a Blue Christmas for the recipients.

7. Right now, it’s a Green Christmas. Not in the environmentally friendly way. And while I recognize that it’s hypocritical to complain about the lack of snow when come April I will be singing a much different tune about the length of winter in Rochester, I’m still dreaming of a White Christmas.

8. When a four year old feel compelled to break into song on a regular basis, this is what happens:

“Some daddies are big and tall! Some daddies are short and small! Some daddies are not named Jeff! Some daddies are Christmas trees!”

Another favorite from yesterday: “Hellooooooooo. Hello I am a girl! And I have three husbands and three wives!”

We might start hitting the Veggie Tales CD a little harder. But I hope this musical stage never ends…cracks me up.

If I can fix my ugly Christmas presents time permits, tomorrow’s post will be an easy, hearty dinner that is not composed of sushi and nutella.

But then again, you never know.

3 thoughts on “beka stays authentic : you will still sleep tonight if you don’t read this

  1. Pingback: beka stays healthy : wild rice stuffed acorn squash « beka stays

  2. Pingback: beka stays real : super sunday ramblings | beka stays

Leave a Reply

