beka stays healthy : new goods in the grocery bag

When it comes to grocery shopping, I’m a creature of habit. Actually, when it comes to life, I’m a creature of habit. But occasionally I break out of my rut and try new items. Sometimes it’s a good decision (see: Barbara’s Chocolate and Peanut Butter Puffins Cereal, Arnold’s Multigrain Sandwich Thins, Sabra Spinach and Artichoke Hummus). Sometimes it’s not (see: Fair Trade Purple Sticky Rice). But from time to time, it’s WONDERFUL. As follows:

Winner #1: Stacy’s Pita Chips

I bet I could finish off an entire bag of these in one sitting. Which is to say that they’re good as-is. But they also make a great topping to yogurt parfaits, oatmeal. or roasted fruit. My favorite so far is the cinnamon sugar, but the gingerbread is a close second!

Winner #2: Seeds of Change Ready to Heat Rice

OH MY GOODNESS. Talk about a time saver! I absolutely love incorporating whole grains like brown rice and quinoa into meals, but they take about a lifetime to cook. Seriously, it feels like I age a few decades while waiting for whole grains to cook. Consequently, I’m head over heels in love with these precooked, preseasoned, microwavable packets for the nights when I don’t have a few extra hours to make dinner. (Which is pretty much…all the time.) I’ve only tried the Seven Grain variety…but good news! There are 5 other kinds to sample…Indian and Caribbean among them! Can’t wait!

Winner #3: Pacific Foods Thai Sweet Potato Soup

Thai Sweet Potato Soup

Soup + Aforementioned Rice + Kale = Hearty Bowl of Lunch or Dinner Lovin’. (And Cashew Carrot Ginger? Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs? Oh, we’re going to be BFF’s soon. Just you wait.)

Winner #4: Westsoy Chocolate Peppermint Stick

I often wish that the Peppermint Mocha at Starbucks did not have 500 calories and half as many ingredients. And here is the answer to my prayers! This is great straight up cold, warm with a dollop of whipped cream, or – my favorite – mixed with a good cup of coffee.

I might start imposing a one new item per week rule to keep digging out of the grocery-staples rut. It’s for my own good. Clearly!

Have you guys tried anything new lately? Any reviews or recommendations? Do tell!

4 thoughts on “beka stays healthy : new goods in the grocery bag

  1. SO Delicious Coconut Milk Nog = Amazing. Try it! Russ doesn’t like Egg Nog but loves this.
    I definitely looked for the Peppermint Stick Chocolate Soy Milk last time I went grocery shopping…maybe I’ll have more luck next time.

    • oh my goodness, i hope you can find it! the chocolate peppermint stick is like christmas in a little paper box. i just bought some rice nog (which may be the most oddly named thing i’ve ever stuck in my grocery cart) but i’ll have to look for the coconut milk nog, that sounds so good!!!

Leave a Reply

