beka stays healthy : roasted stuffed delicata squash

Foreword: I started writing this post and had a good 2 – 3 paragraphs done…when I realized it seemed awfully familiar and checked my drafts. Good call. Already written and waiting to be published. Sanity: 1, Beka: 0.

I wasn’t always so in love with fall/winter vegetables.

Sweet potatoes, butternut squash, brussels sprouts, parsnips, PUMPKIN…these are all recent discoveries in my world. And how bleak life must have been without them! I can’t image how I got through even a single week sans root vegetables and gourds! They now compile my favorite genre of foods. (Excluding desserts. Which probably went without saying.)

I usually get my weekly stash of vegetables from the Brighton Farmer’s Market. Every Sunday, I bolt out of church (which is extra-holy, I know) and speed to the Market so that I can shop for 10-15 minutes and still get home in time for the FOX NFL Pregame Show (it’s my favorite one! I can’t bear to miss it!). It’s an unconventional process, but it works for me.

A few weeks ago I invested 5 minutes of my 15 minute allotment to talking with one of the squash vendors. I was looking for something new to add to my repertoire aside from the usual tried and true varieties. The vendor recommended delicata squash.

The vendor is now one of my favorite people.

The idea for this meal was actually born from a feature in the October issue of Martha Stewart Living. The recipe was for turning a baked sweet potato into a meal by stuffing it. Since I had this squash burning a hole in my pantry, I decided to give it a go with a few different ingredients!

Roasted Stuffed Delicata Squash:

adapted from Martha Stewart Living

  • 1  Delicata Squash
  • 12  Brussels Sprouts
  • ¼  Red Onion
  • 1  Large Chopped Kale Leaf
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Cherries
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 ounce Goat Cheese
  • ½ Tablespoons Raw Pumpkin Seeds

To get started, wash and dry the delicata squash. It’s usually still carrying some old baggage, namely dirt from the field. Once he’s clean and shiny, cut in half (perk: delicatas are easier to chop through than most of the gourd family) and scoop out seeds.

If you like your vegetables steamed, you can just combine the stuffing ingredients and add them to the squash before baking. But if you like things a little crispier, I’d recommend roasting the stuffing on a separate pan. Either way, combine Brussels sprouts, red onion, kale, and cherries. Toss with olive oil and salt and pepper to taste. Add the mixture, either divided between the two halves or spread on a baking sheet. Bake at 400ºF for 15-20 minutes. If you’ve been roasting the stuffing separately, add it to the squash now. At this point you also want to add the goat cheese and pumpkin seeds, both sprinkled on top. Continue roasting for another 15-20 minutes, or until the squash is fork tender.

This meal is the ultimate fall comfort food. I was on the fence about the goat cheese, but I’m so glad it made the cut! It really added something special to the mix. But this is totally customizable – you can add or subtract anything you want! Shallots, pecans, wild rice, cranberries, carrots…you name it. Have fun experimenting and finding your favorite flavor combination!

(You can also find this recipe here, at Tasty Kitchen!)

Leave a Reply

