the dailies : 9.26.11

Please forgive the absence of dailies postings for the past few days – lots of work and weddings! Including one traditional Vietnamese wedding during which I consumed deep fried pigeon for dinner. I’m guessing you probably wouldn’t have wanted to see that show up on the daily dish.

As for today:

daily word: “I cannot think of a single advantage I’ve ever gained from being in a hurry But a thousand broken and missed things, tens of thousands, lie in the wake of all the rushing…Through all that haste I thought I was making up time. It turns out I was throwing it away.” – G.K. Chesterton

daily sweat: 6. Mile. Run. FINALLY!!! It felt great, too. And improved my outlook on the world in general for the rest of the day. I always forget why I run until I have a day like today. Now if only my memory weren’t so short.

daily dish:

breakfast:

I’ll always love this breakfast: oatmeal with peanut butter and sliced bananas. There really isn’t a more comforting, fortifying way to start the week. Especially since I used up the last of the Cinnamon Raisin peanut butter from the oatmeal snack squares, so it was especially good this morning!

lunch:

Loved this meal too! Lightly dressed salads (balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and extra virgin olive oil) have been a recent go-to favorite. I made the oatmeal snack squares again yesterday but this time I was craving PB&J Larabars so I made the squares with chunky peanut butter and dried cherries. Worked like a charm! I also concocted a new creation: pumpkin banana frozen yogurt. Kind of. Here’s what went into the food processor:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 a container of Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • Sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger

Once that was blended, I added a bit of brown sugar to the top and finished it all off with some granola. It was SO good!

dinner:

Roasted vegetables over brown rice. A fall classic (even though it was 80 degrees today). I also snacked on some things at work (juice bar) and had a nice big apple waiting for me in the fridge (I like them cold) when I got home. Perfection!

daily mile(s):

Day 17 : (part II) (not) eating animals

Day 18 : west coast collage

Day 19 : island (mis)happenings

Day 20 : papa’s got a brand new fan

Day 21 : skill sets, ceramics, and brain exercise

Day 22: stopping

 

Leave a Reply

