beka stays healthy : pumpkin pie oatmeal

I love fall flavors. If I ever got a tattoo, it just might read, “I love fall flavors.” Pumpkin, of course, is the epitome of autumn’s culinary delights. And while I don’t like pumpkin pie (which I realize is highly offensive to most Americans…but what can I say?! I had a traumatic childhood pumpkin pie incident and I haven’t been able to get on board with it since), I do love anything else pumpkin. Example: yesterday I blended Greek yogurt with canned pumpkin and added some cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and topped it with granola. It was heaven in a bowl. I’m also a fan of pumpkin muffins, cupcakes, whoopie pies, lattes, coffee, pancakes, etc. Basically if it comes in a pumpkin flavor and it’s not a pie it will be on my plate or in my basket in the very near future.

So naturally it follows that I’d try to incorporate pumpkin into my favorite dish of my favorite meal: oatmeal. What I got was this:

It’s the closest I’ll be getting to pumpkin pie this season.

Here’s what happened:

  • I cooked 1/2 cup Old Wessex Scottish Oats in 1 cup of milk
  • When it was about 3/4 of the way done I added 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin, 1 Tbsp of maple syrup, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and 1/8 tsp of ginger
  • To top it off, I added about a Tbsp of chopped walnuts, some craisins, and a sprinkling of brown sugar
  • When I reheated and ate it a few days later, I also added some extra milk and a banana, just because I like the flavors/textures both add
  • This method made 2 servings. If you double it, I’d double check the spices. I made one batch with way too much cinnamon and I think the trouble was due to doubling.

Give this a whirl! It’s so easy and satisfying it’s sure to become a fall breakfast staple. And try the same ingredients but with Greek yogurt as a base – just blend everything but the toppings in a food processor. It’s SO good!

I think I need a new non-breakfast pumpkin endeavor. Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

