introduction: on staying

You might be wondering, as you ponder the title of this blog, where exactly I’m staying. Good question.

Geographically, I’m staying in Rochester. Not “just for now.” Not for 6 months until I start getting antsy and look for jobs all over the country (and when I realize there are still 3 more months of winter left). But for the foreseeable future, until God clearly moves me elsewhere. Clearly as in picks me up and puts me down in another zip code, clearly.

The In Rochester tab will hold posts about Rochester-related events and adventures. Fair warning: restaurant reviews will probably account for 90% of the subject matter. Potentially 93%. Or more.

Making the decision to stay geographically, I hope, will have a trickle down effect into other areas of commitment. After many, many, oh so many iterations, I finally landed on the six you see listed above. Having a penchant for using adjectives abundantly AND being chronically indecisive really didn’t do me any favors on this one. Here’s what made the final cut and why:

Faithful – As a person of faith, it’s important to me that I am actually faithful. This means that I don’t go to church on Sundays and call it a week or read my Bible in the morning and move on with the rest of my day. Staying faithful, for me, means being in constant relationship with Christ and living a life that bears evidence of that relationship.

Relational – The biggest lesson I learned on the roadtrip was that nouns are more important than verbs – that verbs make life full, but nouns make life rich. Staying relational means that I recognize how valuable my family and friends are and that I value them by making them a priority.

Healthy – One time I ran a half-marathon. Another time I was a vegan for a few months. Neither ended well. I love being in shape and I eating real, whole, good food, but more often than not my consistency and balance leave something to be desired. Staying healthy means that I commit to being physically active every day, to eating well, and to getting enough sleep so that all of those efforts aren’t in vain.

Committed – I debated adding this as an area of focus because really, this whole blog is about being committed. About the power of staying and following through. So why belabor the point? Well, because I need to. It’s important to me that I don’t get so wrapped up in the “fun” parts of documenting staying – things like new recipes or coffee dates or Rochester finds – that I forget about the reason for this blog in the first place. Staying committed means that I am fully present in the present – not jumping from one place or plan to the next. It also means that I give 100% of my effort and emotion 100% of the time. As discussed in a previous blog post, I’m pretty good at 99%. Staying committed means that I consistently give that extra 1%.

Creative – If any part of my life has surprised me thus far, it’s that I seem to be a creative person. I had no idea. Up until recently I thought I was pretty one-dimensional. But I love colors and design. I love making a full dinner with an empty pantry and decorating an apartment with a box of clothespins and old magazines. Staying creative means investing in the two creative areas I identify with most, writing and photography, and also means staying inspired through a variety of mediums.

Authentic – For most of this past summer I worked from 7am until 10pm. While working this insane schedule I quickly lost touch with the elements of my life that make it uniquely and happily mine – things like watching SportsCenter and reading food blogs and going for long walks around the neighborhood. Staying authentic means that I make time for the things that make me who I am.

So, whenever I write a post it will be filed under one of the aforementioned tabbed categories in addition to being posted on the main homepage. Also, at the end of every day, I’ll be posting about three daily items: the Daily Word, a Bible verse from my morning devotions; the Daily Sweat, the workout for the day; and the Daily Dish, a rundown of what was on my plate throughout the day. And last but not least, from now until November I’ll also be posting a Daily Mile roadtrip flashback link as I read through all of the roadtrip posts one year later.

Got it? I hope so! Official posting begins tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

