beka stays : march recap

Better late than never – here’s the March Recap!

[faithful]

DEFINITION: to be in constant relationship with Christ; to live a life which bears evidence of that relationship

2012 GOAL: complete Project 345, keep a one verse/one gratitude daily journal, memorize Galatians 5

PROGRESS: Possibly one of the biggest things I’ve learned from Project 345 is that it’s ok to not make every goal a back-breaking-almost-too-much goal. The plan of reading one chapter per day for 5 days seemed lame to me at first. Like a real goal has to be reading at least one chapter per day every day of the week, ideally more. But having a realistic goal has worked wonders for me. It allows me to actually be successful long-term, able to complete a marathon and not just a sprint. I love having the grace to catch up on the weekends and still be on track. It’s teaching me so much about goal-setting for success, not pride.

//

[relational]

DEFINITION: to love the friends and family who make my life so rich; to make people a priority

2012 GOAL: make one meaningful connection per week with a friend or family member

PROGRESS: Just updated this one this morning. But can I tell you about my friend Karen real quick? She’s giving up her hard-earned spring break to help lead her church’s youth group on a mission trip to New York City. She’s amazing, and so is the work that her team will be doing next week in NYC. Can you pray for them to have safety and impact? And can you cheer on nice people like Karen whenever you encounter them? They deserve it!

//

[hungry]

DEFINITION: to eat thoughtfully prepared (or purchased) food enthusiastically; to expand my culinary skills beyond brownies

2012 GOAL: make one new dinner recipe (from the millions of magazines or billions of blogs I subscribe to) per week

PROGRESS: I would have done Chick-fil-A proud this month, making chicken-based meals for the dinner challenge 3 out of the 4 weeks in March. Favorite by a landslide: chicken stir fry with with goat cheese and raspberries.

//

[athletic]

DEFINITION: to make the most of the healthy body I’ve been given; to run a lot of miles, do a lot of yoga, lift something heavy every now and again, and make every effort to be active as opposed to inactive

2012 GOAL: run 1000 miles

PROGRESS: I’ve been avoiding posting about this because I don’t want to admit defeat. But the 1,000 mile goal for this year is not going to happen. I could absolutely catch up on the miles I missed while I was down for the count by running about 7 miles a day for the next few months. I could do that. But I’d have to give up doing other workouts that I love, and I’d be giving up being well-conditioned overall, and I’d be making myself much more prone to recurring IT band problems. Reluctantly, I’m throwing in the towel on one goal in order to have the ability to achieve another goal.

//

[creative]

DEFINITION: to use the gifts I’ve been given to see the world in a unique way; to appreciate beauty everywhere

2012 GOAL: take one new (legit) picture per week

PROGRESS: I love, love, love this picture:

And also…expect to see more Instagram pictures than you know what to do with in the coming days now that I’ve received the best early birthday present ever: Instagram is now available on the dumb droid. I can’t even talk about it without squealing.

//

[compassionate]

DEFINITION: to love people, especially those who need love most

2012 GOAL: volunteer one day per month

PROGRESS: Updated this one this morning, too. But while we’re talking about compassionate people, can we talk about my parents? They were really nice to me last night when I was sporting a less-than-nice disposition. I’m thankful for them and for love…which really does cover a multitude of sins.

//

[intelligent]

DEFINITION: to use my brain

2012 GOAL: read one book per month

PROGRESS: Hello, Hunger Games. Goodbye, social life.

[in rochester]

DEFINITION: to make the most of the city I live in by exploring new places and frequenting well-loved ones

2012 GOAL: visit one new place in Rochester per month

PROGRESS: Two new places this month: Bin and Barrel and Good Smoke BBQ. Both winners!

//

[out of rochester]

DEFINITION: to scratch the travel itch, expand my perspective, and regularly recharge by getting away

2012 GOAL: travel outside of the greater Rochester area and, if at all possible, the state of New York, once per season

PROGRESS: If Buffalo counts, Morgan and I took an awesome half-day road trip to go visit Jamba Juice!

//

[real]

DEFINITION: to enjoy life, warts and all

2012 GOAL: not to get so caught up in goals and plans that I forget to enjoy laughable life moments, football and snow, coffee and chocolate, Gilmore Girls and magazines, candles and Pinterest, stumbles, falls, and a boatload of other things that make life so much fun

PROGRESS: Keeping it real in March entailed faulty fire alarms and dogs rising from the dead.

//

favorite post: The Southern Weddings post, for sure!

favorite good thing: DIY Chocolate Greek Yogurt. This is life-changing.

favorite pin:

Oh, March. Oh, Pinterest. The two met frequently. I think my favorite is still this one:

truth

pinned here via here

favorite verse: “What God did in this case made it perfectly plain that his purpose is not a hit-or-miss thing dependent on what we do or don’t do, but a sure thing determined by his decision, flowing steadily from his initiative.” Romans 9:11 (MSG)

March in a nutshell: fast, determined, and full.

How about you?

One thought on “beka stays : march recap

  1. Pingback: beka stays : april recap | beka stays

Leave a Reply

