good things : DIY chocolate ice cream

I’m sensing a trend here: making chocolate things out of things that are not chocolate.

I mean, isn’t that what life’s all about?

This time around, it’s a bit of a repeat, but I can’t help but share this again and IMPLORE you to try it, asap.
IMG_2391

This is ice cream made out of a frozen banana.

Ice cream…from a BANANA! I’m so tempted to quote Gwen Stefani right now but I’ll refrain.

And I promise – cross my heart and hope to (not) die – it’s every bit as good as any frozen dessert you’ll ever eat! It’s perfect for the upcoming warmer months. Which means it’s also perfect for fitting into things that are not sweatpants and sweatshirts while still eating ice cream.

Really…does life get any better?

Here are the basics:

Combine everything in a food processor or blender and mix until smooth, adding more almond milk if needed.

Top with anything you want! I’ve tried fresh fruit, peanut butter, granola, and pictured above is a mix of large flake coconut, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, and triple berry jam.

People, if this blog gives you anything, let it be the gift of frozen banana ice cream. Your life will change for the better.

(Unless, of course, you’re allergic to bananas. In that case, please refer to my close personal friends, Ben & Jerry.)

7 thoughts on “good things : DIY chocolate ice cream

  1. i just made this last night!! Beka is telling the truth folks, it is just as amazing as chocolate ice cream. I added a splash of the protein chocolate bolthouse drink instead of the almond milk, just cause that’s what I had in the fridge. so flipping delicious. glen is hooked on this little dessert too, so we’re going through about 17 bushels of bananas a week. just call us curious george and georgette :)

    • I heard on positive, encouraging, KLOVE that bananas contain stress-relieving, good-mood-inducing elements. I’m not sure how they became a wellspring of scientific information, but I’ll take it :) So glad you guys are enjoying this ice cream!!! I can’t wait to try it with Bolthouse – great idea!

  2. Pingback: good things : spring groceries | beka stays

Leave a Reply

