beka stays real : my Making Things Happen application

About a year ago I blogged about taking the Making Things Happen Challenge.

(This is different from the AdvoCare 24 Day Challenge I’m currently doing. Challenges and me? Apparently we’re tight!)

The Making Things Happen Challenge was to me like spinach was to Popeye. I felt more empowered than ever to take charge of my dreams and conquer fears of all kinds. Ever since then I’ve been praying about being able to attend a Making Things Happen workshop because, well, I can’t think of anything I’d like to attend more. (Packers game at Lambeau notwithstanding.) I’d really love to be able to harness whatever it is that is inside of me to do…and then DO it!

So when I saw the announcement for this year’s tour and the availability of scholarships, I wanted to enter an application immediately. But I decided to wait until I knew what I wanted to say.

Cue the crickets.

I had no idea where to start. It’s hard to describe what you want and why you want it when you want it in such a big, clumsy, just-try-to-define-this-sucker kind of way. I put it on the calendar to do next week, thinking that at least I’d still have a week after that until applications were due in case I was still struggling with dreamer’s block. But then this afternoon, unexpectedly, I just started typing. And this is what came out:

“I just spent 15 minutes trying to photograph the reflection of my earring on my computer screen. And the 30 before that scrubbing dishes from the kitchen explosion that resulted in 5 lunches and 5 dinners, packaged and ready to go for the week. Prior to that you would have found me driving home from church, windows down, belting inspirational song lyrics so enthusiastically you would have thought I was Stella and I’d gotten my groove back.

Lara, Emily, Gina, and Natalie: Even though I’m teetering on the edge of a “bless your heart” moment, I’m telling you all of this because it’s the core of what I want to Make Happen. I don’t specifically want to take pictures of my earrings and spend weekend afternoons up to my elbows in soapsuds and sing Joss Stone songs until the cows come home (or, in today’s case, directly to the cows). But I DO want to live 100% from the depth of what fires me up, from the desires I believe God has put in my heart for a specific purpose.

I don’t have a clear-cut job description to offer you. I’m not looking to go into business as a photographer, a designer, a writer, or a motivational speaker (although I’d like to do elements of all of those things!). I’m not sure what to call what I want to do, although Lord knows I’ve tried to wrangle it into a career category for the past 5 years. But I’d like to attend Making Things Happen (in Chapel Hill, please!) to harness the passions that keep me up at night with butterflies just thinking about their possibilities. I want to utilize the full power of those passions and then LIVE them so that other people can catch a spark from that fire and live out their passions, too. Basically, I want to do what Marianne Williamson so eloquently suggests:

“We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Do I really believe that making ice cream out of frozen bananas and hanging pages from magazines on baker’s twine and gushing endlessly about the beauty of mason jars can make a tangible difference in the world?

Not in and of itself. But I believe with 100% of my being that God can take my full effort, derived from my truest, most sincere desires and abilities, and use me as He sees fit to make as much of a difference in the world as possible.

That’s what I want to Make Happen!”

It was the honest-to-goodness truth. It’s kind of uncoordinated and kind of sappy…but so I am! So I’m really happy with what made the journey from heart to fingers to keyboard. It feels like a step in the right direction of being an exclamation point, not a question mark.

Applications are due by April 1st, so hopefully scholarships will be announced soon after that. I can honestly say that I’ll be praying that right person is chosen for this scholarship. But I can also honestly say that I’ll be praying that I might be that person.

(And if your prayer requests list is looking a little sparse, please feel free to add me to it!)

Guys, if YOU want to Make Things Happen, apply for the scholarship to attend a workshop!!! Or just spend hours soaking up the goodness that is the MTH Tumblr. Or take The Challenge! One way or another, choose to act on the things that have been put in your heart for a reason. I don’t think you’ll ever regret it.

4 thoughts on “beka stays real : my Making Things Happen application

  1. Pingback: inspired : 3.18.12 | beka stays

  2. Pingback: beka stays compassionate and relational : programming notes | beka stays

  3. Pingback: staying real : i’m going to MTH 2012…tomorrow morning | beka stays

Leave a Reply

