the dailies : 10.19.11

daily word: Who knew there was wisdom lurking in the pages of a Berenstain Bears book? From the hallowed pages of Too Much Birthday, “The important thing is that you’re going to be six for a whole year and it’s up to you to make the most of it – to learn, to have fun, to grow in every way.”

daily sweat: 3 miles of speed intervals and a very short (seriously – 1 km) row. And a life lesson in the locker room: someone told me I motivated her to work harder on her run because she was watching me run intervals! Who knew?! This was a complete surprise to me because I kind of feel like Phoebe when I run and am definitely not athletically inspirational. But it was a great reminder that sometimes being committed is beneficial to other people and not just me. And also a great reminder to verbalize gratitude to people and not just think it; a stranger totally made my day by taking 10 seconds to talk to me. What a great workout day.

daily dish:

I wanted something light for dinner tonight because I wasn’t too hungry and it was late so I didn’t want to get into an elaborate cooking/cleaning process…and then I remembered bookmarking today’s Eat, Live, Run post. For good reason…

Caramelized Brussels Sprouts! Which was also perfect for tonight because for some reason I felt the need to buy Brussels sprouts on the stalk this weekend at the farmer’s market…and have no idea what I’m going to do with over a foot of sprouts. Maybe freeze them? Anyways, I took some creative liberties with the recipe because I also had a red onion and some goat cheese starring at me in the fridge, so I threw them into the party in the pan too. SO GOOD.

daily mile:

Day 44: green machine

(How weird is it that exactly one year ago, I also posted about Brussels sprouts?! Not that weird, since I wax poetic about them all the time, but still…)

One thought on “the dailies : 10.19.11

  1. Pingback: the dailies : 10.20.11 « beka stays

Leave a Reply

