beka stays authentic : just because today was weird

Because it’s been such a unique day, and because I’m avoiding cleaning my apartment sure you’d love to hear about, I thought I’d jot down some of the finer points:

  • Last night, I had a dream that I unexpectedly met Mike McCarthy. I was so overcome with awe that I could barely speak two words and consequently just mumbled and smiled a lot (which is likely what would occur were we ever to meet in real life). I was also very concerned that I was adorned in baggy and outdated Green Bay attire, and that the shades of green on my sweatshirt and sweatpants did not match. I think this was a subliminal message that a) I should wear things that start with the word “sweat” less often and b) I need new Green Bay attire. Afterwards, I took the Lakers on a bus tour of Niskayuna and made sure to point out to Kobe and Phil and Pau all the local hotspots, like my old church. I’m not sure how or why these two dreams intertwined, but there you have it.
  • Can someone invent a new daily transportation device that is not a car? Because between repairs and tickets this current system is just not working for me.
  • I had Oreos and milk for the first time in FOREVER today. The aforementioned vehicular woes may have been the catalyst for this particular snacking decision, but no matter the reason I’m glad it happened.
  • You know what really would have made all things right in the world today, food-wise? Chick-fil-A. I think I’ve been really rational about my newly-planted Rochester roots. I even made a list of all of the wonders that reside in Rochester! But if we could adjust anything, I’d ask for a Chick-fil-A to move in down the street, preferably right next to Starbucks. Girlfriend needs some Chick-n-Strips and waffle fries, pronto. (And, in the interest of full disclosure, a peach milkshake, too.)
  • Today the kids and I tried to make mini rice krispy treat pumpkins with almonds as the stump. It was semi-successful. When we were done with the mini pumpkins (i.e. 60 seconds later) we used the rest to make this guy:

We were much more excited about eating the chocolate chips than making a face with them, but I think he turned out well regardless.

  • The “what to read?!” question was answered today when I found out that Marisa de los Santos has a new book out, Falling Together. I may have started hyperventilating. That may have been a slight overreaction. But I absolutely adored Love Walked In and Belong to Me and have been waiting with bated breath for a new release. I’ve already requested it from the library!
  • Just in case the jury was out on my nerd status, while I was at the library I also took out the Ken Burns documentary on the National Parks and the Martha’s Master Chef’s DVD. You can call the jury back in for another vote. I’m sure they’ll be quick to reach a verdict.
  • Today, I became acquainted with the Rochester bus system. And it became apparent that it doesn’t matter whether I am driving a vehicle or just a passenger inside of one: my propensity to get lost remains the same. I had no problem finding the first bus, but after that it all went downhill. I must have been standing at the wrong bus stop because the transfer I was expecting to arrive never did. So in my provential wisdom I decided to take a bus to a nearby street and walk home instead of just waiting for/finding the bus that stops about 100 feet away from my apartment. Instead I took the long route, which would have been a much shorter if I hadn’t gotten off of the bus 3 stops too early and walked the half mile it would have driven me.
  • I’m also glad that when I left my car at the shop this afternoon, I decided to move my umbrella from the floor to the passenger seat, just to tidy things up a bit. To actually take the umbrella along never occurred to me, an error in judgement I had time to ponder during the soggy walk home.
  • Let’s be honest: I had brownies for dinner.
  • And an oatmeal raisin cookie.
  • Is it Sunday yet?
One thought on “beka stays authentic : just because today was weird

  1. Pingback: the dailies : 10.12.11 « beka stays

Leave a Reply

